Library Skip to main content

Nursing: Tips for NCCC Nursing Students

Finding an article in a Nursing journal that was published in the U.S.

One of the tasks that your professor may assign you is to find an evidence-based practice, research article in a NURSING journal that was published in the United States.  Here are a few short steps that will help you be successful in your search for that article:

 

Using CINAHL Plus with Full Text to find an article in a Nursing Journal

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.

 

The CINAHL Plus database has many advanced features.  This is a very simple search, designed to help you find the full text of an article that meets the parameters mentioned above.  For a more advanced search, you can click “help” on the screen, or ask a reference librarian to assist you. 

 

*Click on the link to CINAHL Plus with Full Text , located under the tab "Finding Articles" in this LibGuide.

*Type your search term in the first searchbox.  For example, "diabetes."  (If you wish to narrow your search, you may use the drop down menu next to the searchbox to select a field.)

*Pull your page down to "Limit your results"

*Check the boxes that say "Research Article" and "Evidence-Based Practice."  At this point, you may also choose to limit your results to only those articles which are full text, by checking the box that says "Full Text."  Keep in mind that this will narrow your results, and may not retrieve all of the relevant articles for which you are searching.  You may also want to limit your results in other ways, for example, "author is a nurse."

*Find the drop down menu that says "Journal Subset."  Select "Nursing."  

*Find the drop down menu that says "Geographic Subset."  Select "USA."

 These steps ensure that you will find only Nursing journals published in the U.S.

 *Click on the “Search” button; a list of citations to articles in nursing journals will come up on the screen.  The citations will be listed in order of Relevance, so if you want them to list the most recent articles first, click the little arrow next to the word "Relevance" and select "Date Newest."   SOME, not all articles, will be full text right in the database.   Once you have chosen the citation you want, here are your choices for retrieving your article: 

1.  Look for a link that says "PDF Full Text"  or "HTML Full Text" at the end of the citation.  Click that link, and the whole article will pop up on the screen. The articles that are full text may be printed, saved, or e-mailed from your computer.

2.  Some articles that are NOT FULL TEXT may be retrieved elsewhere in our library, online, in paper,  or on microfiche.  Ask the Reference Librarian for help if you need it.

3.  Articles that are not full text or not held at all by the library may be obtained through ILLIAD, the library's interlibrary loan service.   See the box below on this page,  or on the library's homepage, for a link to ILLIAD.   

  This is an example of a SIMPLE, BASIC search.  For more advanced searches, use the help screens or ASK A LIBRARIAN.

 

ILLiad

Use our Illiad service when the H.G. Lewis Library does not have the materials you need.  To insure that you receive notification when your materials arrive, please be sure to use your T-Wolves email address when you create your account.

Subject Guide

Nancy Kennedy's picture
Nancy Kennedy
Contact:
G243A
614-6792
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786