Library Skip to main content

Evaluating Internet Sources: Pre-Evaluated Websites

This guide will help you determine the value of information you gather searching the internet (www), and offer suggestions for successful research gathering

Internet directories you can trust

INFOMINE (http://infomine.ucr.edu/) is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information. INFOMINE is librarian built.

Internet Public Library  (http://www.ipl.org/) A merged collection of the Internet Public Library and the Librarians' Index to the Internet websites.

Invisible Web Databases

The following are "invisible web" databases that may help you in your research in a variety of subject areas. Some of these databases have advertisements for you to wade through, but the final content is worth the effort. They provide some free access to articles, as well as links to articles which require payment for full text.

        - FindArticles (http://www.findarticles.com) Affiliated with CBS interactive business network. Articles primarily in areas of business and news.

        - MagPortal.com (http://magportal.com) A search engine and directory for finding online magazine articles.

        - Directory of Open Access Journals (http://www.doaj.org) Offers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

      

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786