Skip to main content
Hard Copies of Periodicals
Current issues of paper, or "hard" copies of magazines and journals, are kept in G209. You may use these issues in the library.
Once the issues are no longer current, they are sent to a storage area. This area is closed to students, but if you need a hard copy of a back issue, please ask the Reference Librarian for help.
You can find titles of the periodicals that we subscribe to in hard copy in the Library Catalog. Or, there is a publication called Periodicals: An Alphabetical Listing of our Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, and Microforms, available at the Reference Desk and at the current periodicals shelving area. A useful feature of this publication is the Subject Listing in the back, which allows you to find all the hardcopy periodicals we own in a particular subject area.
Use our Illiad service when the H.G. Lewis Library does not have the materials you need.
Illiad allows NCCC students and faculty to request items not found in this library. Note: you must register and login to use this service.
A non-profit image collection, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. ARTstor serves as a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data representing many time periods and cultures.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Containing nearly 300 full text journals, this database covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, and philosophy.
The library has access to several databases that may help you find articles. Here is a sampling of our database collection.
Please note: for access from off-campus, you must login to each database using your college id. The tab labelled "Off campus access," located under the "Find Scholarly Articles" tab, will show you how to do this.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multidisciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals.
Contains the complete archives of a set of core scholarly journals. Current issues are not included which means there is usually a 2- to 5-year gap between the most recently published issue and the most recent in JSTOR. Coverage begins with the first volume of each journal, many of which date from the 1800s. The articles are scanned so that what you see is a page image, a replica of the original journal page.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786