Skip to main content
America: History & Life with Full Text
A bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric time to the present. Included are abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations
Access a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. More than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865
full-text, full-image electronic version of Harper's Weekly for the nineteenth century. The Civil War segment covers the years 1857-1865. It includes news, illustrations, cartoons, literature, editorials, and advertisements in one of the most popular magazines of that era.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR contains the complete archives of a set of core scholarly journals. Current issues are not included which means there is usually a 2- to 5-year gap between the most recently published issue and the most recent in JSTOR. Coverage begins with the first volume of each journal, many of which date from the 1800s. The articles are scanned so that what you see is a page image, a replica of the original journal page.
Military & Government Collection
The Military and Government Collection provides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. It is designed to bring current news to all branches of the military and matters relating to the military and military life. Also indexes and abstracts over 360 magazines, including Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
Pop Culture Collection
It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets.
U.S. History Collection
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
World History Collection
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
Help researching History topics
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786