Skip to main content
ALEPH - our online catalog
Search ALEPH, our online catalog, for books and media containing criticism of specific authors. Search under "Subject begins with", entering the author's last name, and then first name. Look for the subheading "Criticism and interpretation."
Example: Hawthorne, Nathaniel - Criticism and interpretation.
If the criticism deals only with ONE of the author's works, the title of the work may be included in the subject heading.
Example: Hawthorne, Nathaniel - Young Goodman Brown
General Sources of Literary Criticism
Beacham's Encyclopedia of Popular Fiction
Call Number: REF PN 56 .P55 .B43
Provides criticism for popular fiction that may not be available elsewhere
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Call Number: REF PN 771 C59
Includes excerpts of criticism on authors who are still lving or who have died after 1959. An author index may be found at the end of the last volume. There is a title index for volumes 1-254.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Call Number: REF PS 221 .D5
Information about authors of all genres of literature is covered in this set. Cumulative indexes are included in most volumes.
Masterplots: 1801 Plot Stories and Critical Evaluations of the World's Finest Literature
Call Number: REF PN 44 .M33 1996
Includes critical evaluations and plot synopses of a comprehensive collection of world literature available in English.
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
Call Number: REF PN 761 .N5
Includes excerpts of criticism on authors who died between 1800-1899.
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Call Number: REF PN 771 .G27
contains excerpts of criticism on authors who died between 1900 and 1959. There is an author index at the end of the last volume, and a title index for volumes 1 -
Finding essays within books
Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)
This unique reference database cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. More than 230,000 indexed essays found in over 9,000 printed anthologies and collections.
Essay & General Literature Index
Unlocking the wealth of literature, this unique reference database offers precise access to nearly 65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections—a wealth of information that might be otherwise hidden away in your library. Some 300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, art history, drama, and film.
Where are the books?
Reference books are located in room G209. They are for Library Use Only, but you may photocopy anything that you need from them with the copier in the Reserve room.
Our circulating collection is located in room G209.
For assistance locating a book, check with the Reference Librarian.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786