Library Skip to main content

AAC041 ReadingFoundations : Finding an article in a periodical

Intro to library services, including searching the online catalog and the databases, evaluating internet sources, and finding scholarly material

Off campus? Here's how to access library databases

  1. Know your Twolves username/password
  2. From the library homepage, select All Library Databases
  3. Select the database you want to search
  4. You will be prompted to enter your username/password

Questions? Call the Library's Reference Desk at 614-6786 for assistance

What is a Database?

If you are looking for an article on a certain subject, or by a specific author, a database is the way to go!  A database is an online collection of articles from books, journals, periodicals, pamphlets, etc organized by subject. It eliminates the need to page through magazines in a usually futile attempt to find just what you're looking for. The library subscribes to a number of subject specific databases, along with some general databases which have a broader subject base, but are not as in depth in advanced subject areas. It is sometimes advisable to begin in a more general database, and if you can't find what you want, move to the more advanced subject specific ones. The library subscribes to databases in the areas of literature, health sciences, criminal justice, psychology, among many others.

How to find an article using a database

From the library's home page, there are a number of ways to get into the databases to search. You can click the "Articles" tab above the search box to go directly into one of the general databases for a simple search. Or, you can click the "Find Articles" tab which runs along the top of the page, which gives you a list of some of the general databases to chose from, and offers a You Tube video to answer some questions you might have about using a database. Finally, when you are a little more savvy using the databases, you can click directly on the subject or alphabetical lists and go directly into the database of your choice.

Like the online catalog, you can perform a simple search with one term, or click the Advanced Search tab, which allows for combining search terms to make up a search strategy. Two wonderful options which are available in every database, are the ability to limit your searches to full text and peer reviewed articles. By limiting to full text, you will only get search results whose complete contents are available to you on the screen. You will then be able to read ad/or print the entire article without having to leave your seat!  The peer reviewed option allows you to eliminate articles from popular magazines, and only get scholarly articles in your search results, for example a book review from Explicator instead of People!

Academic OneFile

Use this database to find articles on your topic:

Databases

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786