Skip to main content
Encyclopedia of American Folklore
Call Number: REF GR105 .W38 2007
Folklore has been described as the unwritten literature of a culture: its songs, stories, sayings, games, rituals, beliefs, and ways of life. Encyclopedia of American Folklore helps readers explore topics, terms, themes, figures, and issues related to this popular subject.
Reference books (including encyclopedias and dictionaries) are a good place to start your research because they give an overview of your topic or subject, lead to other sources, and give background information.
Reference books are located in G209. They cannot be checked out, but a copier and a scanner are available in G201 for your convenience.
Giants, Monsters, and Dragons
Call Number: REF GR825 .R67 2000
The author has combed through the imaginary bestiary of the world and given us a look at all of its grotesque inhabitants.
Man, Myth and Magic. The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown.
Call Number: REF BF1407 .M34 1994
Thematic areas include legendary lands and beasts, folklore, ancient myths and legends.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Call Number: REF E169.1 .J3 2013
The St. James Encyclopedia Of Popular Culture, 2nd ed., includes 3,036 signed essays,alphabetically arranged, and written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture.
Books to Check Out
Call Number: QL88.3 .L69 2013
Throughout our history, humans have been captivated by mythic beasts and legendary creatures. Tales of Bigfoot, the Yeti, and the Loch Ness monster are part of our collective experience. Now comes a book from two dedicated investigators that explores and elucidates the fascinating world of cryptozoology.
Call Number: GR825 .S28 2013
Featuring over 230 illustrations of a veritable menagerie of fantastical and unreal beasts, Imaginary Animals is a feast for the eyes and the imagination.
Niagara County high school students who are at least 17 years old may obtain a community borrower card to borrow from our library.
Anatomy of a Beast
Call Number: QL89.2 .S2 M38 2009
Part history, part road trip, and part biography, this is the true story of a remarkable group of men whose obsession with Bigfoot turned the giant hominid into an American icon. Award-winning journalist Michael McLeod tells of Bigfoot's rise to tabloid stardom in a fast-paced account that begins with his own journey to investigate a famous 1967 film clip of a Bigfoot in a California forest.
Call Number: QL89.2 .S2 B84 2009
Though Bigfoot may not exist, there is no denying Bigfoot mania. With Bigfoot, Joshua Blu Buhs traces the wild and woolly story of America's favorite homegrown monster.
Locating Books in Other Libraries
If you need titles that we do not own, think about visiting your local public library. You can search the area public libraries from here:
Use the Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to search for books to borrow.
Credo eBooks for Research
Hundreds of full text reference books covering a broad range of topics including art, medicine, history, technology and science. Also accessible from this database are images, audio pronunciation files, a citation formatter, and customizable data tables that can be exported into spreadsheets
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786