Skip to main content
Selected Reference Books
Call Number: REF HM647 .A44 2009
Counterculture, while commonly used to describe youth-oriented movements during the 1960s, refers to any attempt to challenge or change conventional values and practices or the dominant lifestyles of the day. This fascinating three-volume set explores these movements in America from colonial times to the present in colorful detail.
Call Number: REF BF692.5 .B69 2010
In this two-volume set, a series of expert contributors look at what it means to be a boy growing up in North America, with entries covering everything from toys and games, friends and family, and psychological and social development.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Call Number: REF PN56 .S9 F47 2007
This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than 'universal' psychological archetypes or myths. It explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence
Call Number: REF HV9104 .E59 2007
Since juvenile violence cannot be understood without examining the social context of a given time, this comprehensive encyclopedia provides a historical overview of many significant time periods and offers entries about many types of juvenile violence.
Encyclopedia of the Environment in American Literature
Call Number: REF PS169.E25 E53 2013
Introduces readers to American poetry, fiction and nonfiction with a focus on the environment (defined as humanity’s natural surroundings), from the discovery of America through the present.
Our Earth's Changing Land
Call Number: REF GF90 .O87 2006
Over the last 300 years, and in particular the last 50 years, the earth's land has been altered drastically as a result of increasing industrialization and urbanization worldwide, as well as by changes in agricultural techniques in lands under cultivation. These developments raise troubling questions about our future.
The Psychology of Teen Violence and Victimization
Call Number: REF HQ784 .V55 P79 2011
A two-volume set that fills a gap in the current literature on teen violence by addressing the incidence, psychological explanations, and impact of all forms of teen violence.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Call Number: REF E169.1 .J3 2013
The St. James Encyclopedia Of Popular Culture, 2nd ed., includes 3,036 signed essays. Covers topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance.
Advanced Catalog Search
To search for REFERENCE BOOKS, first click the tab that says "Advanced Search" at the top of the library catalog search page. Limit your search to "Reference , 2nd Floor," in the drop-down box labeled "More Collections"
Did you know this?
Reference books are currently located in Room G209. They cannot usually be checked out. However, a scanner is available for your convenience in Room G201, and you may swipe your ID card to retrieve copies.
Credo eBooks for Research
Credo Reference is a link to a nearly 300 full text reference sources covering a broad range of topics including art, medicine, history, technology and science. Also accessible from this database are images, audio pronunciation files, a citation formatter, and customizable data tables that can be exported into spreadsheets
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786