Skip to main content
Reference Books - may be used in the Library
Beacham's Encyclopedia of Popular Fiction
Call Number: REF PN 56 .P55 .B43
Offers analysis and criticism of more than 1,600 popular works by more than 430 authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Call Number: REF PN 771 C59
Criticism and evaluations of both new and established authors who are living or who have died since 1959. Each volume in this series contains approximately 500 individual critical excerpts (about 20 per author) taken from about 100 books and several hundred general magazines.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Call Number: REF PS 221 .D5
This the series systematically presents career biographies of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
Masterplots: 1801 Plot Stories and Critical Evaluations of the World's Finest Literature
Call Number: REF PN 44 .M33 1996
Includes critical evaluations and plot synopses of a comprehensive collection of world literature available in English.
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Call Number: REF PN 771 .G27
Assembles critical responses to the works of 20TH-Century authors of all sorts-novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres-fro
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
Call Number: REF PR19 .D53 2004
Contains over 6,500 entries providing a guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature
Call Number: REF PR19 .E53 2011
The unique, three-volume Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature;offers both a survey of literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works.
Encyclopedia of African American Writing
Call Number: REF PS153 .N5 A3444 2009
Covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature
Call Number: REF PS153 .I52 E53 2007
Covers the field from the earliest recorded works to some of today's most exciting writers. Features the most respected, widely read, and influential American Indian writers to date.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States
Call Number: REF PS153 .S39 E53 2009
In this two-volume work, hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries survey contemporary lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer American literature and its social contexts.
Use the Library Catalog to search for books and media items.
To search for articles or digital resources, choose the "Databases" or "Search all" tabs above.
Databases contain journal articles, ebooks, media, and news resources.
Enter title keywords to find a specific database. For example, Academic OneFile or JSTOR. Or browse them by subject here.
Use the Library Catalog to search for Course Reserve materials, such as textbooks.
Enter a keyword to search for Library research guides for your class or topic. For example, ENG101 or Nursing.
Search ALEPH, our online catalog, for books and media containing criticism of specific authors. Search under "Subject begins with", entering the author's last name, and then first name. Look for the subheading "Criticism and interpretation."
Example: Fitzgerald, F. Scott - Criticism and interpretation
Example: Alexie, Sherman -- Criticism and interpretation
If the criticism deals only with ONE of the author's works, the title of the work may be included in the subject heading.
Example: Fitzgerald, F. Scott - The Great Gatsby
Did you know this?
Reference books are located in G209, the main stacks of the library. They cannot be checked out. However, a copy machine and a scanner are available in Room G201 for your convenience.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786