Skip to main content
The library has access to several databases that may help you find articles. If the article you want is NOT full text in the database, please ask the reference librarian for help.
Please note: for access from off-campus, you must login to each database using your T-Wolves username and password. See the box in the right column on this page if you are unsure about how to do this.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multidisciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals.
Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
This valuable research tool offers high-quality indexing of a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences, dating as far back as 1907. Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 includes a wide range of peer-reviewed content such as comprehensive indexing for nearly 1,200 periodicals, more than 1,300,000 citations and over 240,000 book reviews.
Humanities Source includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, and plays. More than 1,150 active full-text journals and magazines.
JSTOR contains the complete archives of a set of core scholarly journals. Current issues are not included which means there is usually a 2- to 5-year gap between the most recently published issue and the most recent in JSTOR. Coverage begins with the first volume of each journal, many of which date from the 1800s. The articles are scanned so that what you see is a page image, a replica of the original journal page.
Finding essays within books
Essay & General Literature Index
Unlocking the wealth of literature, this unique reference database offers precise access to nearly 65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections—a wealth of information that might be otherwise hidden away in your library. Some 300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, art history, drama, and film.
Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)
This unique reference database cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada.
More than 230,000 indexed essays found in over 9,000 printed anthologies and collections.
Library Databases - Find Articles
Use library databases to find articles.
Off campus? Here's how to access periodical databases
- Know your Twolves username/password
- From the library homepage, select All Library Databases
- Select the database you want to search
- You will be prompted to enter your username/password
Questions? Call the Library's Reference Desk at 614-6786 for assistance
Illiad allows NCCC students and faculty to request items not found in this library. Note: you must register and login to use this service.
Use our Illiad service when the H.G. Lewis Library does not have the materials you need.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786