Skip to main content
Articles are great resources for research. Before you begin, make sure you know how to evaluate sources and determine if they are scholarly. This webpage, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is a good primer.
Use the databases to search for articles on your topic(s).
Databases to look for Articles
Below are a couple interdisciplinary or general databases that would be a good place to begin research. Depending on your topic, you may want to use a subject-specific database, You can browse all the databases, organized by subject, here.
Please note: for access from off-campus, you must login to each database using your T-Wolves username and password.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Use the Library Catalog to search for books and media items.
To search for articles or digital resources, choose the "Databases" or "Search all" tabs above.
Databases contain journal articles, ebooks, media, and news resources.
Enter title keywords to find a specific database. For example, Academic OneFile or JSTOR. Or browse them by subject here.
Article Search Parameters
To access only scholarly articles, you should check the "peer-reviewed" option in databases.
To receive only full-text articles, check the "full-text" option (Full-text means the full article is immediately available. If you don't choose full-text articles, you may only receive a citation or abstract of an article.)
You may want to adjust the data range and only search for articles within the last 5-10 years. This is especially important for science and technology-related topics.
Too few articles
- Check for spelling errors or typos
- Use subject headings or keywords, do not use long phrases
- Try using synonyms or utilize Boolean operator “OR” to search similar concepts (For example, Global warming OR Climate change)
- If you have a good source, look at its subject headings or keywords to get search ideas for related articles
Too many articles
- Add another aspect to your search using Boolean operator “AND” (For example, Global warming AND Flooding)
- Add limits, such as full-text, peer-reviewed, and date range
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786