Skip to main content
Here are some resources to help you with your Argument Essay and Persuasive Proposal.
Search for books & media in the Library Catalog
You can search for e-books on your topic through this database.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
EBSCO offers more than 900,000 high-quality e-book titles and over 60,000 audiobooks from more than 1,500 major academic publishers and University Presses from around the world.
Choosing a topic
Below are a couple databases that can be useful in picking a topic and exploring different positions on that topic.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Information on a wide range of social issues includes access to full-text magazine and newspaper articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites.
Points of View Reference Center
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Picking your topic is research
It's best to choose a topic that interests you. What do you want to learn more about?
You can research current events through news-related databases such as these:
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. A collection of over 1,000 newspapers, including Buffalo News August 2000 - present. Full text takes about two days to get into database.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is a daily business and financial newspaper edited in New York City and sold throughout the United States.
Evaluating web sources
Remember it's important to evaluate your sources before using them for research. Evaluation criteria includes: relevancy, accuracy, authority, currency, and purpose. You can learn more about evaluation criteria at this website about evaluating resources by UC Berkeley Library.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786