Skip to main content
Writing a paper on a film or television topic? The HGL Library has scholarly resources for your research.
Browse the Shelves
Suggested Call Number Ranges
PN1993-PN1999 Cinema Studies/Film Criticism
- PN1993.5 Film History
- PN1995.75 Silent Films
- PN1995.9.A-Z Special Topics--ex. PN1995.9.D6 Documentary
- PN1997 Individual Motion Pictures (Films)
- PN1998 Biography
- PN1999 Special Corporations (i.e. Studios)
TR845-TR899 Film Production
- TR848 History
- TR849 Biography
- TR853-TR859 Color, 3D, Widescreen, Time-lapse, Trick
- TR860-TR862 Digital cinematography and HD
- TR878-TR883 Motion Picture Machines (cameras)
- TR890 Projection
- TR891 Lighting
- TR832-TR896.8 Applied cinematography
- TR897 Sound
- TR897.5 Animation
- TR899 Editing
Academic Center for Excellence
Instant messaging with a Librarian! 24 hours a day, everyday!
Click on the icon above to chat.
Search the Catalog
Enter your keyword to search our catalog for books and media.
Here are some search term ideas to get you started:
Films -- History and criticism
Films -- Production and direction
Motion picture actor and actresses
Motion pictures -- History
Television programs -- History
Here are some examples of books you can check out from the Library.
Search a general or humanities database to find scholarly articles.
Fine Arts & Music Collection
With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Source includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, and plays. More than 1,150 active full-text journals and magazines.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Films on Demand
Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos
from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786