Skip to main content
Writing a paper on a musician or music topic? The HGL Library has scholarly resources for your research.
Need topic ideas?
- Why is this music important?
- Who is this music important to?
- What kind of messages does this music communicate?
- How has this genre of music evolved?
- Compare one genre of music with another
If you need help finding sources for your research, please let us know. We are here to help!
Here are some suggested databases to search for scholarly articles relating to music.
Fine Arts & Music Collection
With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Source includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, and plays. More than 1,150 active full-text journals and magazines.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Films on Demand
Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos
from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. The Music & Dance category contains over 900 films.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Study Music at NCCC!
Learn more about NCCC's music department and degree program through their webpage here.
Instant messaging with a Librarian! 24 hours a day, everyday!
Click on the icon above to chat.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786