LibGuides: Films and Media: Research

Browse the Shelves

Suggested Call Number Ranges

PN1993-PN1999 Cinema Studies/Film Criticism

PN1993.5 Film History
PN1995.75 Silent Films
PN1995.9.A-Z Special Topics--ex. PN1995.9.D6 Documentary
PN1997 Individual Motion Pictures (Films)
PN1998 Biography
PN1999 Special Corporations (i.e. Studios)

TR845-TR899 Film Production

TR848 History
TR849 Biography
TR853-TR859 Color, 3D, Widescreen, Time-lapse, Trick
TR860-TR862 Digital cinematography and HD
TR878-TR883 Motion Picture Machines (cameras)
TR890 Projection
TR891 Lighting
TR832-TR896.8 Applied cinematography
TR897 Sound
TR897.5 Animation
TR899 Editing

Search the Catalog

Here are some search term ideas to get you started:

Films -- History and criticism

Films -- Production and direction

Motion picture actor and actresses

Motion pictures -- History

Television programs -- History

Here are some examples of books you can check out from the Library.

Conversations with Classic Film Stars by James Bawden; Ron Miller
Call Number: PN1998.2 .C614 2016
Seinfeldia by Jennifer Keishin Armstrong
Call Number: PN1992.77.S4285 A86 2016
Red and the Black by Robert Miklitsch
Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 M545 2017
Independent Filmmaking Around the Globe by Doris Baltruschat and Mary P. Erickson
Call Number: PN1995.9.I457 I53 2015
It's the Disney Version! by Shea T. Brode
Call Number: PN1999.W27 I88 2016

Databases

Search a general or humanities database to find scholarly articles.

Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
The Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
A database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. This includes studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature and philosophy. Content includes articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos. Content providers include: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, HBO, and many more. Over 50,000 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into broad subjects. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786

Films and Media: Research

Writing a paper on a film or television topic? The HGL Library has scholarly resources for your research.

Writing About Movies

Browse the Shelves

Academic Center for Excellence

Search the Catalog

Databases