Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Two ways to access the article Born in Ireland, Killed at Gettysburg: The Life, Death, and Legacy...
Click here for article
You can click here to get the pdf version of the article. It is a long article, and does take some time to download.
America History and Life
For quicker access to the article: Born in Ireland, Killed at Gettysburg... click here. In the first search box enter the term Fisher. In the second search box, enter the term Born in Ireland. The article you're looking for should appear. If you're off campus, you'll need to enter your twolves username/password.
Search Databases to Find Articles
The library has access to several databases that may help you find articles in scholarly, or academic journals.
Please note: for access from off-campus, you must login to each database using your T-Wolves username and password.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Access a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. More than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865 This link opens in a new window
HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. You have access to 1857-1865: The Civil War Era.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
The Military and Government Collection provides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. It is designed to bring current news to all branches of the military and matters relating to the military and military life. Also indexes and abstracts over 360 magazines, including Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 400 journals covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Private John Henry Rosebrook, Battery M, 1st NY Light Artillery
John Henry Rosebrook, from Tonawanda, was a private in a battery that was raised in Niagara County. This is a copy of his request for a disability pension.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786