Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Are Reference Books?
Reference books are located on the 3rd floor of the library, outside D303. They cannot be checked out. However, a scanner is available at the 2nd floor Circulation/Course Reserve Desk for your convenience.
You may scan the information you need from a reference book, then save it in one of several ways. You may send them to your email account, save them to a flash drive, or print them in ACE. You may use your ID card to pay for the printing with your $40 per semester credit.
Search For Background Information
First, search for background information using a reference database:
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles as ebooks in virtually any subject, including health, science, art, history, and biography.
Choose a search scope in the dropdown menu or access advanced search through this link.
- Everything: Searches every type of material accessible through the Lewis Library, including print books, e-books, journals, newspapers, etc.
- Library Catalog: Searches physical items, such as print books, print journals, DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks immediately available through the Library
- Articles: Searches databases for digital materials such as academic journal articles, newspaper & magazine articles, reports, and reference entries. You can also search the databases directly to take advantage of additional search features
- Course Reserves: Searches textbooks and other materials reserved by instructors
Databases contain journal articles, ebooks, media, and news resources.
Enter title keywords to find a specific database. For example, Academic OneFile or JSTOR. Or browse them by subject here.
Enter a keyword to search for Library research guides for your class or topic. For example, ENG101 or Nursing.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786