Library Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AAC 042: Reading Foundations: Searching the Online Catalog

Intro to library services, including searching the online catalog and the databases, evaluating internet sources, and finding scholarly material

Search

Choose a search scope in the dropdown menu or access advanced search through this link. 

  • Everything: Searches every type of material accessible through the Lewis Library, including print books, e-books, journals, newspapers, etc. 
  • Library Catalog: Searches physical items, such as print books, print journals, DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks immediately available through the Library
  • Articles: Searches databases for digital materials such as academic journal articles, newspaper & magazine articles, reports, and reference entries. You can also search the databases directly to take advantage of additional search features
  • Course Reserves: Searches textbooks and other materials reserved by instructors

Databases contain journal articles, ebooks, media, and news resources. 

Enter title keywords to find a specific database. For example, Academic OneFile or JSTOR. Or browse them by subject here.  

 

 

Enter a keyword to search for Library research guides for your class or topic. For example, ENG101 or Nursing. 

Finding a book

You can find a book by searching the subject, keyword, author, or title, among other things.  Simply type your term in the search box and hit enter for a single, one term search, such as "history".  If you would like to combine terms, click the Library Catalog button and then the Advanced Search tab that runs along the top line. This will allow you to combine several terms to get fewer hits, but more specific results, for example, try to combine: "history", "United States", "civil war".

Finding a Reference book

You may also limit your search results to specific collections within the library. After entering your search terms and clicking the "SEARCH" tab, choose from the options on the left side of the results list to select the collection, dates, material type, etc. you would like to find.  Reference books, course reserves, or Audiobooks are examples of some specific collections. Just remember, if you find a book listed this way, you will have to go to the area where the specific collection is housed to find the book. It will not be found in the open stacks.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786