Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
One of the themes in T.C. Boyle's "Greasy Lake" is gender. Here are some ideas on how to search for more on this theme.
Search for your literary themes in the search box below or through a humanities database.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
A database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. This includes studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature and philosophy. Content includes articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Performative Acts and Gender Constitution
Butler, Judith. “Performative Acts and Gender Constitution: An Essay in Phenomenology and Feminist Theory.” Theatre Journal, vol. 40, no. 4, 1988, pp. 519–531
Performativity, Precarity and Sexual Politics
Butler, Judith. “Performativity, Precarity and Sexual Politics.” Revista de antropología iberoamericana 4.3 (2009): I–XIII. Web.
Butler, Judith (b. 1956)
Creet, Julia. “Butler, Judith (b. 1956).” Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories, Taylor & Francis Ltd / Books, 2000, pp. 69–70.
Related Search Terms
- Construction of sexuality
- Feminist Theory
- Gender identity
- Gender performativity
- Gender role
- Politics of gender
- Queer Theory
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786