Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these databases to find scholarly articles on your theme or topic related to Hamlet.
This database integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
A database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. This includes studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature and philosophy. Content includes articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.
Suggested Subject Headings
Hamlet (Legendary character)
Hamlet in literature
Revenge in literature
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
“Hamlet: The Royal Shakespeare Company Production Starring David Tennant.” Films On Demand, Films Media Group, 2009, fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103836&xtid=41685.
Call Number: PR2807.A23 O55 2006
amlet is Shakespeare’s towering tragedy of the Danish prince who feigns madness to trap his father’s murderer.
Call Number: PR2807.A23 M4171
In what is perhaps his greatest and most popular tragedy, Shakespeare uses a tense drama of murder, conspiracy and revenge as a medium for probing the most fundamental human problems: justice, guilt, madness, death, and the difficulty of understanding oneself and others. Noted Shakespearean actors Derek Jacobi and Claire Bloom portray Hamlet and Gertrude.
Call Number: PR2807.A23 Z44
Hamlet, a prince of medieval-era Denmark, senses treachery behind his royal father’s death. His mother is all too dangerously entangled in that treachery. This film portrays Shakespeare’s immortal tale of high adventure and evil deeds.
Call Number: PR2807 .A23 B67
In this first-ever full-text film of William Shakespeare’s work, the Prince of Denmark, Hamlet, returns home to find his father murdered and his mother remarrying the murderer. Meanwhile, war is brewing.
Call Number: PR2807.A23 D67
This production of Shakespeare’s masterpiece from Britain’s renowned Royal Shakespeare Company was filmed on location rather than in the theatre. No recent stage production in Britain has attracted the excitement and nearly unanimous critical praise as this Hamlet. Dynamic, exciting, and contemporary, it breathes new life into Shakespeare’s greatest play.
You can also watch this film through our Films on Demand database.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786