Skip to main content
This page contains resources to help you complete your Researched Career Report.
Reference sources are a good place to begin research since they can provide a general overview of a topic.
Reference collection access
Reference books are located on the main floor of the library. They cannot be checked out. However, there are scanners and copy machines available for your use.
Credo eBooks for Research
You can also search for reference e-books! If you're off-campus, you'll need to log-in with your t-wolves credentials.
Hundreds of full text reference books covering a broad range of topics including art, medicine, history, technology and science. Also accessible from this database are images, audio pronunciation files, and a citation formatter.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)
You can request books and articles that NCCC doesn't own through our interlibrary loan service, ILLIAD.
From the Collections of the NCCC Archives
Books on Specific Careers
To find books on a specific career or a group of careers in a certain subject area, search the Library Catalog using the title of the career/occupation and "vocational guidance".
Here is an example:
Subject: Medicine AND
Subject: Vocational guidance
Books on Careers
Below are some books from the collection on various careers that might interest you. You can search for more using the catalog.
Search term ideas
Here are some search terms to try:
Occupational Outlook Handbook
For each career, it describes work activities and environment, earnings, number of jobs and their location, and types of education, training, and personal qualifications needed to have the best prospects. U.S. Bureau of Labor projections of employment to the year 2018 are used to assess what kind of job opportunities future entrants to each occupation should encounter.
O*NET (Occupational Information Network)
An interactive tool for career exploration and job analysis.
Includes resources for jobseekers, employers, students, and human resouce professionals.
New York State Department of Labor
Career resources, employment data, training referrals, and job postings organized by the NYS Department of Labor.
Try these databases to research your chosen career.
Vocations and Careers Collection
Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Vocational & Career Collection
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals. It is useful to research various careers and industries.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786