Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Databases to Find Scholarly Articles
The library has access to many databases that will help you find scholarly articles on your topic. Below are links to some of the databases that cover topics like substance abuse, domestic violence, and disabilities.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Information on a wide range of social issues includes access to full-text magazine and newspaper articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource of more than 530 full-text journals is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search engine for finding scholarly content on the web. Set your preferences to link to NCCC's many databases by: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'Niagara County Community College' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
If full text is not freely available, you can request it through interlibrary loan.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786