LibGuides: Theatre : Home

Choose a search scope in the dropdown menu or access advanced search through this link.

Everything: Searches every type of material accessible through the Lewis Library, including print books, e-books, journals, newspapers, etc.
Library Catalog: Searches physical items, such as print books, print journals, DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks immediately available through the Library
Articles: Searches databases for digital materials such as academic journal articles, newspaper & magazine articles, reports, and reference entries. You can also search the databases directly to take advantage of additional search features
Course Reserves: Searches textbooks and other materials reserved by instructors

Databases contain journal articles, ebooks, media, and news resources.

Enter title keywords to find a specific database. For example, Academic OneFile or JSTOR. Or browse them by subject here.

Enter a keyword to search for Library research guides for your class or topic. For example, ENG101 or Nursing.

Web Resources

Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
A database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Internet Off-Broadway Database (IOBDB)
The Internet Off-Broadway Database provides a catalogue of all shows ever produced Off-Broadway.
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts houses one of the world's most extensive combinations of circulating, reference, and rare archival collections in its field.
Playbill Vault
A database of Broadway history from Playbill Inc.
Theater Historiography
A blog and discussion board about theater topics.
Theatricalia
A database of past and future theatre productions.

Suggested Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly articles on your topic in the theatre arts.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
A database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. This includes studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature and philosophy. Content includes articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
The Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

NCCC Theatre Arts

Theatre Arts, A.S.
The Theatre Arts curriculum prepares students for transfer to baccalaureate programs in performance and technical theatre. The program offers students the opportunity to develop their potential through a combination of challenging coursework and practical theatrical training in a liberal arts environment.

Reserve a Study Room

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786

Theatre : Home