Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Human Services Databases
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource of more than 530 full-text journals is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
The premier social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press book, reference, and video content.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals covering physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences including business.
What is a scholarly article?
Professors often require students to include articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed journals as resources for their research papers. These articles are authored by experts in their fields and are reviewed by their peers before being accepted for publication. The level of scholarship is high above what we might find in a news magazine.
Strengthening your search
Clicking the boxes to guarantee that your results are full-text and peer reviewed (scholarly) articles will result in finding the types of college level publications that your professors are looking for.
Using the dropdown arrows to the right of the search boxes will insure that your search terms appear in areas that make them stronger, like in a subject heading or abstract, rather than just a random spot in an article.
Performing an "Advanced Search", which allows you to enter a number of terms and use boolean logic to link them, will result in a smaller number of more precise articles that are spot on with the search terms you entered.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786