LibGuides: Biology: Databases, Online Journals and Articles

Access Primo directly through this link or through the search box below.

Featured Resources for Visually Studying Human Anatomy and Body Systems

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
This 3-D human anatomy resource contains numerous 3-D images of human anatomy, including images of all major bodily systems. It incorporates important definitions and videos to help reviewers understand the different parts and functions of the body.
Here is a video showing how to log-in and begin using Anatomy. TV from Professor Yvonne Szymanski: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DPHqVXRHvYk

Niagara County Community College Virtual Anatomy Lab
This online lab was developed to provide digital access to the models, microscope slides and dissection materials utilized in the Anatomy and Physicology Lab at NCCC.

Helpful Databases for Peer-review, Scholarly, & Research Articles

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals covering physical sciences, life sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences including business.
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database covers the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is dedicated to bringing physicians the best research and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, and to presenting the information in an understandable and clinically useful format.
The A-Z listing of topics under the Topics tab on the NEJM homepage covers many areas that are found within the field of Biology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.

A search using the phrase human body will bring up useful results.

Online Journals

Current Biology
A general journal that publishes original research across all areas of biology together with an extensive and varied set of editorial sections. A main goal is to foster communication across fields of biology, both by publishing important findings of general interest from diverse fields and through highly accessible editorial articles that explicitly aim to inform non-specialists.
The Open Biology Journal
An open access online journal, which publishes research, review/mini-review and letter articles and guest edited single topic issues, reviews and letters in all areas of biology and at the interface of related disciplines. The core disciplines in biology that are published in the journal are the following: Cell & Developmental Biology, Genetics & Genomics, Molecular Biology, Structural Biology, Bioinformatics, Systems Biology; Immunology, and Biochemistry among many other subfields of biology.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786

Biology: Databases, Online Journals and Articles