Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Databases to Find Scholarly Articles
The library has access to several databases that may help you find articles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering world history from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology and sociology. Does NOT include coverage of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
The Military and Government Collection provides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. It is designed to bring current news to all branches of the military and matters relating to the military and military life. Also indexes and abstracts over 360 magazines, including Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 400 journals covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database covers all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to standard search features, this database allows for searching by time period, an essential feature given the extensive range of its coverage.
Off campus? Here's how to access library databases
- Know your Twolves username/password
- From the library homepage, select All Library Databases
- Select the database you want to search
- You will be prompted to enter your username/password
Questions? Call the Library's Reference Desk at 614-6786 for assistance or email email@example.com
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786