LIT 211: Children's Literature: Writing & Citing

This guide was created to help you find children's and young adult literature, and also criticism and interpretation of that literature.

Citations

Citing your sources is important because:

It shows you've done research by looking up scholarly resources
It allows others to look up the sources you used to find the information
It prevents you from being accused of plagiarism

Citations may look different depending on what style is used, but they contain the same information. The standard elements include:

Author name(s)
Title (of book or article and journal)
Date of publication
Page numbers

Brief intro to MLA format

[Your last name] [page #]

[Your Name]

[Your professor's name]

[Class number and section number]

[Date: day, month, year]

[Centered Title]

Double spaced text using consistently-sized 12pt font. One inch margins on all sides.

For more detailed information, consult the MLA Handbook or the MLA Style Center's page on Formatting a Research Paper.

MLA Style Center

The MLA Style Center
This website includes writing resources from the Modern Language Association.

This MLA web resource contains specific information on formatting a research paper and creating a Works Cited page.

MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2016
The eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.

Online Citation Guide

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook, offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Citation Generator

NoodleTools Express
Just need one or two quick citations? There's no need to subscribe -- simply generate them, then copy and paste what you need into your document.

Note: Citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor using this version of the tool.

Academic Center for Excellence

The Academic Center for Excellence, located within the Lewis Library, offers academic coaching, tutoring, study groups, and workshops. Learn more here: http://niagaracc.suny.edu/ACE/

Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786