Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these databases to locate articles in the Nursing and Allied Health fields. Start your research with CINAHL Plus with Full Text. For more help finding an article, click the CINAHL Basic Search tab.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Health and Medicine
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
MEDLINE with Full Text
This is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. With full text coverage dating back to 1965, this wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index.
To limit your search to Evidence Based Practice, put a check mark in the box that says "EBM Reviews."
ScienceDirect ® provides coverage of the journal literature in science, technology and medicine, including Nursing and Health Professions. It offers access to over 3,800 journals in the Elsevier Science collection and indexing to over 30 million records, with links to 10,000 journal titles. Full text is included for over 1 million articles dating from 1995 to the present.
AJN, American Journal of Nursing
AJN is the oldest and largest circulating nursing journal in the world. The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in professional nursing, with a global perspective, by providing cutting edge, evidence-based information that embraces a holistic perspective on health and nursing.
Home Healthcare Nurse
Home Healthcare Nurse is the professional, contemporary journal serving the educational and communication needs of home care and hospice nurses. The journal is highly interactive and timely, focusing on the multidimensional, interdisciplinary and specialty practice areas of home care nursing. Clinical, operational, and educational home care nursing issues are the core of the publication; plentiful columns and features focus on practical, up-to-date approaches to everyday situations, as well as analysis and interpretation of how healthcare trends affect the home care nurse's practice.
Full text coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the March 2000 issue.
New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is dedicated to bringing physicians the best research and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, and to presenting the information in an understandable and clinically useful format. A career companion for physicians, NEJM keeps practicing physicians informed on developments that are important to their patients and keeps them connected to both clinical science and the values of being a good physician. NEJM employs a highly rigorous peer-review and editing process to evaluate manuscripts for scientific accuracy, novelty, and importance. The editors have set policies to ensure that authors disclose all relevant financial associations and that those financial associations do not influence published content.
A monthly publication, Nursing is the journal of choice among practicing nurses. Known for its easy-to-read style and commitment to quality, it keeps nurses up-to-date on peer-reviewed evidence-based practice about key clinical topics, including cardiac and respiratory care, new drugs, new treatments, and nursing techniques. Clinical illustrations, photographs, and charts help clarify complex clinical concepts. The journal also covers legal and ethical issues, professional trends and controversies as well as stories written by nurses about their most memorable professional experiences. Coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the January 2002 issue.
Nursing Critical Care
Nursing Critical Care: The Journal for Excellence in Critical Care Nursing addresses the information needs of the busy critical care nurse. Straightforward content digests clinical practice breakthroughs and complex research findings, and offers quick-response assessments and interventions that reflect the latest critical care standards. Wherever nurses care for patients—the ICU, CCU, cath lab, PACU, telemetry, progressive, or transitional care—each bimonthly issue offers vital information on topics that boost readers' assessment and intervention skills to the next level.
Full text coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the January/February 2006 issue.
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
Smart, funny, but always clinically relevant, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! demonstrates that nurses can laugh while they learn. This first-of-a-kind, new journal already has wide readership and extremely high acceptance among practicing nurses and student nurses. With the help of a cast of characters–led by Nurse Joy–the journal navigates the most difficult and complex clinical concepts, breaking them into simpler, clearly explained components that don’t leave the nurse wondering, "What did that mean? "This unique journal entertains and enlightens while paying close attention to the learning process, offering tips for improving recall, highlighting must-know information, and testing learning in a nonthreatening way. Based on the popular Incredibly Easy! book series, Nursing made Incredibly Easy! is dedicated to the "get the gain of learning, but without the pain" approach to teaching or reinforcing important clinical skills and concepts.
Full text coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the September 2003 issue.
Off campus? Here's how to access library databases
- Know your Twolves username/password
- From the library homepage, select Databases
- Select the database you want to search
- You will be prompted to enter your username/password
Questions? Call the Library's Reference Desk at 614-6786 for assistance
The Lewis Library maintains print subscriptions to the nursing journals listed below.
- American Journal of Nursing
- Cancer Nursing
- Geriatric Nursing
- Home Healthcare Now
- Journal of Infusion Nursing
- Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing
- Journal of Pediatric Health Care
- Journal of Transcultural Nursing
- MCN: the American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing
- Nurse Educator
- Nurse Practitioner
- Nursing Clinics of North America
- Nursing Outlook
Use our Illiad service when the H.G. Lewis Library does not have the materials you need. To insure that you receive notification when your materials arrive, please be sure to use your T-Wolves email address when you create your account.
Illiad allows NCCC students and faculty to request items not found in this library. Note: you must register and login to use this service.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786