Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America: History & Life with Full Text
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database covers all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to standard search features, this database allows for searching by time period, an essential feature given the extensive range of its coverage.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Full-text database covering world history from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology and sociology. Does NOT include coverage of the United States and Canada.
Humanities Source is a full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. This includes studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature and philosophy. Content includes articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Military & Government Collection
The Military and Government Collection provides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. It is designed to bring current news to all branches of the military and matters relating to the military and military life. Also indexes and abstracts over 360 magazines, including Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
The following articles are available as full-text through JSTOR.
John Hellman, "Vietnam and the Hollywood Genre Film: Inversions of American Mythology in the Deer Hunter and Apocalypse Now," American Quarterly, Vol. 34, No. 4 (Autumn 1982: 418-439.
Richard Slotkin, "Nostalgia and Progress: Theodore Roosevelt's Myth of the Frontier," American Quarterly, Vol. 33, No. 5 (Winter 1981): 608-637.
You can access the following article through the Wesleyan University History Commons here or request via interlibrary loan here.
Richard Slotkin, "Gunfighters and Green Berets: The Magnificent Seven and the Myth of Counter-Insurgency," Radical History Review, Vol. 40 (1989): 65-90.
Hollywood Westerns Research Paper
Keyword search ideas
In addition to the titles of the films and names of actors or directors, the following terms may be useful for searching articles for your research paper assignment:
Cowboys in motion pictures
Heroes in motion pictures
Motion pictures -- United States
If you're off-campus, you'll need to log-in with your T-wolves username and password to access the library databases.
Need help? Call the Library's Reference Desk at 614-6786 for assistance.
Too few articles
- Check for spelling errors or typos
- Use subject headings or keywords, do not use long phrases
- Try using synonyms or utilize Boolean operator “OR” to search similar concepts (For example, Global warming OR Climate change)
- If you have a good source, look at its subject headings or keywords to get search ideas for related articles
Too many articles
- Add another aspect to your search using Boolean operator “AND” (For example, Global warming AND Flooding)
- Add limits, such as full-text, peer-reviewed, and date range
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786