Library Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY 250: Home

This guide will serve as a refresher for your instruction in finding scholarly articles for your Abnormal Psychology paper

Welcome

Welcome to LibGuide created to help you find scholarly articles in the area of psychology for your research paper. You will use a database, which is basically a subject index to articles within a discipline, and many will provide you with the full text of the article. If full text is not available in the database you are using or one of the others that are available through our website, we can try to find the article in paper copy or order it through interlibrary loan for you.

Search

Choose a search scope in the dropdown menu or access advanced search through this link. 

  • Everything: Searches every type of material accessible through the Lewis Library, including print books, e-books, journals, newspapers, etc. 
  • Library Catalog: Searches physical items, such as print books, print journals, DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks immediately available through the Library
  • Articles: Searches databases for digital materials such as academic journal articles, newspaper & magazine articles, reports, and reference entries. You can also search the databases directly to take advantage of additional search features
  • Course Reserves: Searches textbooks and other materials reserved by instructors

Databases contain journal articles, ebooks, media, and news resources. 

Enter title keywords to find a specific database. For example, Academic OneFile or JSTOR. Or browse them by subject here.  

 

 

Enter a keyword to search for Library research guides for your class or topic. For example, ENG101 or Nursing. 

What is a scholarly article?

Professors often require students to include articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed journals as resources for their research papers. These articles are authored by experts in their fields and are reviewed by their peers before being accepted for publication. The level of scholarship is high above what we might find in a news magazine.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786