Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find articles or digital resources, search in databases that index the articles from online journals or e-books.
The following databases are recommended for literature and humanities topics. However, based on your topic you may also want to a search broader database--or a complementary subject database.
This database integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Database offers high-quality indexing of a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences, dating as far back as 1907. Coverage in social sciences, humanities, ethics, and related topics. Includes a wide range of peer-reviewed content such as comprehensive indexing for nearly 1,200 periodicals, more than 1,300,000 citations and over 240,000 book reviews.
Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Article Search Parameters
To access only scholarly articles, you should check the "peer-reviewed" option in databases.
To receive only full-text articles, check the "full-text" option (Full-text means the full article is immediately available. If you don't choose full-text articles, you may only receive a citation or abstract of an article.)
You may want to adjust the data range and only search for articles within the last 5-10 years. This is especially important for science and technology-related topics.
Too few articles
- Check for spelling errors or typos
- Use subject headings or keywords, do not use long phrases
- Try using synonyms or utilize Boolean operator “OR” to search similar concepts (For example, Global warming OR Climate change)
- If you have a good source, look at its subject headings or keywords to get search ideas for related articles
Too many articles
- Add another aspect to your search using Boolean operator “AND” (For example, Global warming AND Flooding)
- Add limits, such as full-text, peer-reviewed, and date range
Reminder: if you are off-campus you will need to log-in with your t-wolves credentials to access the databases.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786