LibGuides: Music: Research

Writing About Music

Arkansas Tech University Music Lab
Helpful tips on writing about music from Arkansas Tech University.
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center
This resource from UNC Chapel Hill's Writing Center features common types of music assignments and offers strategies and resources for writing them.
Duke University Writing Studio
This resource from Duke University is intended as a brief guide to discipline-specific aspects of writing about music—in particular, music-analytical writing involving technical description.

Suggested searches and keywords

Here are some search term ideas to get you started:

[genre of music] + criticism and interpretation
[name of band or artist] + criticism and interpretation
music + social aspects
music + political aspects
music + history and criticism

Research Help

If you need help finding sources for your research, please let us know. We are here to help!

Stop by the reference desk anytime the Library is open
Call us at 716-614-6786
Email us at refdesk@niagaracc.suny.edu
Use Ask Us 24/7 chat service

Databases

Here are some suggested databases to search for scholarly articles relating to music.

Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
The Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
A database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. This includes studies in art, history, communications, culture, literature and philosophy. Content includes articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos
from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. The Music & Dance category contains over 900 films.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786

Music: Research

Writing a paper on a musician or music topic? The Lewis Library has scholarly resources for your research.

Writing About Music

Need topic ideas?

Suggested searches and keywords

Research Help

Databases

Study Music at NCCC!