Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America: History & Life with Full Text
A bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric time to the present. Included are abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Searching provides links to Historical Abstracts.
Ancestry Library Edition
Access a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. More than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865
HarpWeek is the full-text, full-image electronic version of Harper's Weekly for the nineteenth century. The Civil War segment covers the years 1857-1865. It includes news, illustrations, cartoons, literature, editorials, and advertisements in one of the most popular magazines of that era.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Full-text database covering world history from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology and sociology. Does NOT include coverage of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR contains the complete archives of a set of core scholarly journals. Current issues are not included which means there is usually a 2- to 5-year gap between the most recently published issue and the most recent in JSTOR. Coverage begins with the first volume of each journal, many of which date from the 1800s. The articles are scanned so that what you see is a page image, a replica of the original journal page.
U.S. History Collection
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
New York State Newspapers
A full-text database covering ten major newspapers in New York State including the Buffalo News, from 1996 to the present
Getting started on Ancestry.com
Not sure where to start your family history journey? Click here for a series of online tips for Ancestry.com:
JSTOR for Genealogists
A library guide to utilize JSTOR. Use the rich JSTOR library to build out your family tree’s historical, cultural, and social contexts. Gain the knowledge and details around places, times, and historical trends.
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in many academic disciplines, especially arts, literature, humanities, history and biology.
Access from Off-Campus
Select the database you want to search then enter your T-Wolves username and password to access databases from off-campus.
Need help? Call the Library's Reference Desk at 614-6786 for assistance or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786