LibGuides: HIS 122: The U.S. Since 1865, Dr. Don Fisher: State and Local Websites

Local Newspapers

You never know what you will find about your family in older newspaper articles. Try to find local newspapers in the public library or your local historical society. Look for: obituaries, marriage announcements, ship arrivals, advertisements, social events, court judgements, sports events, gossipy news.

Niagara Gazette
The Gazette was founded in 1854 as the Niagara Falls Gazette. It is morning daily newspaper published in Niagara Falls, New York.
Lockport Union-Sun & Journal
The paper now known as The Lockport Union-Sun & Journal, is the oldest paper in Niagara County. It was first printed in Lewiston and later moved to Lockport. Its current name has been in effects since 1915 when the Lockport Daily Journal joined with the Union Sun to begin the Lockport Union-Sun & Journal.
Lewiston-Porter Sentinel
The Lewiston-Porter Sentinel is a weekly newspaper published on Saturdays since 1987, primarily serving the town of Lewiston in Niagara County, New York.
Niagara Wheatfield Tribune
The Niagara Wheatfield Tribune is an American weekly newspaper serving Niagara County, New York since 1985.

Niagara County Libraries with Local History Collections

Lockport Public Library
The Local History Room is located on the third floor of the Library. The collection includes mainly information on Niagara County and Lockport; the Erie Canal; famous persons, industries, schools, events, and historic buildings.
Niagara Falls Public Library
The Niagara Falls Local History Department is located on the third floor of the Main Library. They house extensive collections of books, photographs, maps, newspapers, videotapes, scrapbooks, and clipping files about Niagara Falls.
North Tonawanda Public Library
The Local History Department preserves materials relevant to the history of North Tonawanda. The collection contains books, maps, photographs and newspaper clippings detailing the rich history of North Tonawanda, and the Erie Canal in the Tonawandas.
Newfane Public Library
The Newfane Library has a Local History collection including books about local history and genealogy. The collection features the Freda Ruff Notebooks, Judson Heck, Sr. Notebooks and the Newfane School yearbooks.
Lewiston Public Library
The Lewiston Public Library maintains the Jon F. Popkey Genealogy Room and Frieda C. Bourgon Local History Room; patrons may access these rooms during Library hours. Collections include: city directories, obituaries of Lewiston citizens, the village cemetery census, histories of Niagara County towns and villages, and comprehensive subject files.

This is not an exhaustive list. Most public libraries contain local history collections. Pay a visit to your local library to learn more.

Buffalo Repositories

The Buffalo History Museum
Although located in Erie County, The Buffalo History Museum's Research Library is a mecca of local history materials, including resources for all of Western New York.
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
The BECPL contains over 4,000 volumes, extensive local history files, and maps relating to Western New York history, particularly Erie County.
Buffalo New York Family History Center
The Family History Center located at 1424 Maple Road in Williamsville, New York is open to the public to assist in free family history research. This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Niagara County Historian

Niagara County Historian's Office
The Historian's Office can assist visitors in a number of ways, including locating documents, accessing databases, explaining the use of public records and where to find them. Of particular interest to students in this class are Regimental Histories, atlases, and information on over 8000 Niagara County Civil War veterans.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786

HIS 122: The U.S. Since 1865, Dr. Don Fisher: State and Local Websites

New York Heritage

Local Newspapers

Niagara County Libraries with Local History Collections

Buffalo Repositories

Niagara County Historian

County Government

WNY Municipalities

NYS General Information