Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
National Jukebox makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.
Collections include the unique contemporary compositions and performances found in the Other Minds collection and hundreds of popular songs from the early 20th Century found in the 78 RPM collection.
Association for Cultural Equity: Alan Lomax sound recordings
This catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, beginning with Lomax’s first recordings onto tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s. In addition to a wide spectrum of musical performances from around the world, it includes stories, jokes, sermons, personal narratives, interviews conducted by Lomax and his associates, and unique ambient artifacts captured in transit from radio broadcasts, sometimes inadvertently, when Alan left the tape machine running. Not a single piece of recorded sound in Lomax’s audio archive has been omitted: meaning that microphone checks, partial performances, and false starts are also included.
UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive
The UCSB Library, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Grammy Foundation, and donors, has created a digital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the UCSB Library. To bring these recordings to a wider audience, the Library makes them available to download or stream online for free. This searchable database features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.
The Global Jukebox
As a free, non-commercial, educational place to explore expressive patterns in cultural-geographic and diasporic settings. By inviting familiarity with many kinds of vocalizing, musicking, moving, and talking, we hope to advance cultural equity and to reconnect people and communities with their creative heritage. The Global Jukebox makes available to the general public, scholars and scientists all of the data and many of the analyses of the research into the expressive arts carried out under the direction of Alan Lomax and the anthropologist Conrad Arensberg from 1960 to 1995,
Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.
Partners in Rhyme
Collection of general sound effects, public domain sound effects, free royalty free sound effects
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786