Music: Writing & Citing

A guide to the music collections at NCCC.

MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index

Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Citations

Citing your sources is important because:

It shows you've done research by looking up scholarly resources
It allows others to look up the sources you used to find the information
It prevents you from being accused of plagiarism

Citations may look different depending on what style is used, but they contain the same information. The standard elements include:

Author name(s)
Title (of book or article and journal)
Date of publication
Page numbers

Brief intro to MLA format

[Your last name] [page #]

[Your Name]

[Your professor's name]

[Class number and section number]

[Date: day, month, year]

[Centered Title]

Double spaced text using consistently-sized 12pt font. One inch margins on all sides.

For more detailed information, consult the MLA Handbook or the MLA Style Center's page on Formatting a Research Paper.

Citation Management Tool

NoodleTools is a research companion that can help you manage citations and annotations.
As a first time user, you will need to register on the NoodleTools site. It's best to create your account on campus for IP authentication and then once your account is created, you can access it from any computer with an internet connection. After you click on "Register" you will be asked to enter the College's credentials which are:

Username: niagara
Password: lewis

Then you will be asked to create a personal ID and password for your individual account. Click on "Register" at the bottom of the page once you fill out your log-on information.

Then you have successfully created a NoodleTools account! To learn more about utilizing NoodleTools, check out this Guide.

MLA Style Center

The MLA Style Center
This website includes writing resources from the Modern Language Association.

This MLA web resource contains specific information on formatting a research paper and creating a Works Cited page.

Online Citation Guide

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook, offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Writing Help

You can schedule an appointment with a writing tutor or academic coach through the Academic Center for Excellence. Check out their website for more details. You can also call 716-614-6724 or contact ACE through email.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786