Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Did you know the Lewis Library has almost 3,000 films on DVD?
Search for them in the catalog.
Common ways to search are:
- By title
- By name of person associated with film (director, producer, actor, etc.)
- By genre such as Feature films, Television series, Documentary films, Action and adventure films, etc.
Browse the Shelves
DVDs are located on the 4th floor of the Library in the Northeast corner.
Most popular movies and films are located in the PN1997 and PN1997.2 sections.
Television series are located in the PN1992.77 section.
Online Sources of Films
Open Vault WGBH Media Library and Archives
WGBH Media Library and Archives provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Open Vault contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.
The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Their collection contains digital movies which range from classic full-length films to daily alternative news.
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 and contains over 11,000 titles. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos. Content providers include: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, HBO, and many more. Over 50,000 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into broad subjects. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform which offers academic films and documentaries.
Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank licenses and distributes feature film content to non-theatrical markets including U.S. colleges and universities. This is a collection of streaming films for academic use. The titles are selected based on faculty requests and titles may change each year. Closed captioning is available on most films.
NCCC Film & Animation Festival
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786