Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online sources for images
Images from the History of Medicine
Digital collections from the National Library of Medicine.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.
Smithsonian Open Access
A collection of over 3 million digital items from the Smithsonian This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
U.S. Government Photos and Images
Find photos and images by topic. Some of these photos and images are in the public domain and may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some photos and images may be protected by license. We strongly recommend you thoroughly read the disclaimers on each site before use.
Images from the collections of the National Cancer Institute.A resource for electron microscopy and histological images. Includes general biomedical and science-related images, cancer-specific scientific and patient care-related images,
A collection of 63 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Cite your sources
Images, diagrams and other visual artistic works should be cited just as any other type of work. If you use an image you did not create, you must provide a citation. Image citations should include the following information at a minimum:
- Creator name
- Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
- Image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.)
- Date accessed
Try to find as much information as possible when citing an image. For more on citations, check out this guide.
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786