Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using CINAHL to Find an Evidence-Based Practice Article
One of the tasks your professor may assign you is to find an evidence-based practice, research article in a nursing journal that was published in the United States. Here are a few short steps to help you be successful in your search.
Evidence-based Practice Books
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by
Call Number: RC455.2.E94 B37 2016
In the current healthcare climate, it is more important than ever to be able to select and find the right evidence for your practice to ensure patients receive safe, high quality care. This comprehensive book helps nurses and healthcare professionals understand how to use evidence in all aspects of care, with plenty of examples and activities to help relate concepts to practice.
Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice by
Call Number: RT42 .I58 2012
Thorough explanations of the importance of evidence-based practice. A unique, global perspective that emphasizes the use of models and theories. Guidance on how to implement the evidence-based process into practice. Clinical vignettes depicting how to incorporate qualitative and quantitative aspects of evidence into practice. Learning objectives
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
Call Number: RT48.6 .A35 2017
This book helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. It shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan.
MEDLINE with Full Text
A comprehensive source of medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. With full text coverage dating back to 1965, this wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index.
By checking EBM [evidence-based medicine] you can search for evidence-based practice articles.
Using PubMed in EBP
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice Training Course
When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed.gov is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®.
Evidence-Based Practice Websites
Summaries from the Cochrane Library, a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine research.
The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.
AHRQ Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
This site provides users a place to find information about its legacy guidelines and measures clearinghouses, National Guideline ClearinghouseTM (NGC) and National Quality Measures ClearinghouseTM (NQMC).
This figure illustrates the traditional nursing process mapped onto the five steps of EBP.
Stannard, D. (2019). A Practical Definition of Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing. Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing, 34(5), 1080-1084. doi:10.1016/j.jopan.2019.07.002
Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786