LibGuides: Niagara Falls Culinary Institute Library: Cite your sources

Citation Rules Help

Rules for Writers 10th Edition by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: PE1408 .H277 2022
Up-to-date MLA and APA formatting and documentation guidelines align with MLA's 2021 and APA's 2020 guidelines.
1 Copy Available Online
1 copy in Ready Reference, 2nd floor behind Reference Desk
2 copies on Course Reserves, 2nd floor behind Circulation Desk
Rules for Writers with 2016 MLA Update by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: PE1408 .H277 2016
1 copy in REFERENCE 3rd floor
1 copy in LOANABLE 4th floor shelves

NFCI Info on Rules For Writers

There is 1 copy of the 7th edition of Rules for Writers at the NFCI Library.

The 7th edition DOES NOT have the 2018 MLA update, but it is fine for English grammar rules and for guidance with prewriting, organizing, and developing essays

The NFCI Library falls into good writing and research!!

Database Citation Help

Many online periodical indexes show you exactly how to cite the sources you find. Look for a link that says something like "citation tools," or "cite this article." Click on that link, and you will see the citation in various formats. Here is an example of a citation in MLA format created in the Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts database. Note: you are ultimately responsible for making sure your citations are correct.

Hartman, Lauren R. "A look back at baking: we're celebrating our magazine's centennial anniversary by

taking a look back at the bygone days of the baking and snack food industries and their

progress through the years. Here's a retrospective look at the baking industry." Snack Food

& Wholesale Bakery, Apr. 2012, p. 12+. Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts,

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A287517984/PPCA?u=niagara_main&sid=PPCA&xid=c9be9e51.

Accessed 17 Sept. 2019.

Common Citation Styles

MLA style is the citation style established by the Modern Language Association of America, and is commonly used for research in the humanities, including English, modern languages, literary criticism, and media and cultural studies.

MLA Style Center
Created by the Modern Language Association, a website providing free resources that include guides, instructions, and tools for generating the works-cited-list of sources used in your paper and for help with formatting your paper, along with space to ask questions and view sample papers.

Explore the whole website, but most helpful are:

Works Cited: A Quick Guide
Using MLA Format
Formatting a Research Paper
Practice Template

Wise old OWL from Purdue
The Writing Lab gurus at Purdue University have established themselves as trustworthy "go to" consultants on all things writing and research by creating the Purdue OWL.

Their MLA Formatting and Style Guide is at the head of the class by following the 8th edition of the MLA Style Manual

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index

Created by the American Psychological Association, APA Style is most commonly used to format and cite research papers in the social sciences.

APA uses a system of in-text citations and a list of references at the end of the paper in order to give credit to the sources throughout the paper.

These citations and list of references heavily focus on presenting the author(s)' last name with initialized first name AND the date of the publication of the source used.

Wise old OWL from Purdue
The Writing Lab gurus at Purdue University have established themselves as trustworthy "go to" consultants on all things writing and research by creating the Purdue OWL.

Their APA Formatting and Style Guide is at the head of the class by following the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010
1 copy REFERENCE (2nd) main floor by reference desk
1 copy REFERENCE 3rd floor

Chicago Style is mostly used by those composing research papers and works in literature, history, and the arts.

Chicago style consists of two different documentation systems: the notes and bibliography system and the author-date system. Notes and bibliography is most often used in the humanities and features detailed bibliographic information in footnote or endnote citations, while the author-date system is more commonly used in the sciences and uses brief parenthetical citations.

Wise old OWL from Purdue
The Writing Lab gurus at Purdue University have established themselves as trustworthy "go to" consultants on all things writing and research by creating the Purdue OWL.

Their Chicago Style Formatting and Style Guide is at the head of the class by following the 17th edition of CMOS

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Z 253 .U69 2017
1 copy REFERENCE (2nd) main floor near reference desk
1 copy REFERENCE 3rd floor

Organize Your Citations

NoodleTools
NoodleTools is a research companion that can help you manage citations and annotations.

As a first time user, you will need to register. Click on the NoodleTools link above and then click on Register near the bottom of the screen.

On the registration page you will need to fill in ALL the fields including the Subscription Type (choose 'account linked to school/library') and everything below the About You section. Then click Register near the bottom of the screen.

Once you have registered, you will then use the Personal ID and Password you created to sign in and access your NoodleTools account.
Noodle Tools Guide
To learn more about utilizing NoodleTools, check out this guide.

Niagara County Community College. Henrietta G. Lewis Library. 3111 Saunders Settlement Rd., Sanborn, NY 14132 | 716-614-6786